Forums » Introduce Yourself

Brian Smith in the Santa Cruz Mountains

• 29 posts
    December 31, 2012 12:06 PM PST

Hi folks!  Boy, this site has grown quite a bit since it's humble beginnings in early July of 2011, right around the start of The Harrow & The Harvest tour.  I live in the mountains above Santa Cruz with the love of my life, Leora, and our two kids, Kahlo (15) & Jonah (12).  I currently work as a drug and alcohol counselor, after 8 years as in-home caregiver for private clients, and before that a 16 year career in music retail.  I've played solo and in numerous bands since picking up the guitar in 1984 while living in Athens, Greece.  From 2007 to 2011, I had a weekly residency on Tuesday mornings for 4 hours at our local coffee house, The White Raven.  In August of 2011, I decided to take the plunge and assemble the all acoustic group I've always wanted, and after experimenting with a plethora of various musicians, I finally had all of the pieces of the puzzle by April of 2012.  Upright bass, mandolin, banjo, fiddle, guitar, male & female vocals.  Mountain Folk!  http://www.facebook.com/mountainfolkband & http://www.mountainfolkband.com/ ; Mountain Folk went along it's merry way until August of 2014, when ego and internal strife caused it to abruptly implode.  After a year long hiatus, during which time I tried getting something going with another guitarist/vocalist, I'm returning to weekend busking on Pacific Avenue in hopes of connecting with my future musical soulmates.